Project Time Lapse 2017

For quite sometime I’ve been thinking of what to do with my DSLR after the events and holidays. Then I came across camera’s time lapse feature – why not use it instead of just keeping in the storage?

Other than keeping my DSLR busy, it would come in handy for my friends and families to see how the season goes here as well. That’s so they can schedule their vacation accordingly, if they have any plans. If they want to see snow, they can come between December to February. If they want to see colorful trees, September to November would be the months to visit.

Can’t help but wish I’ve started this time lapse project when we lived in a high-rise apartment. Back then, we have a nice view of sunsets most of the evenings. Would have been nice to see the sun set from one side of the building to the other as season changes from winter to autumn.

Oh well, maybe will have another chance to document that view. For more stories and technical documentation, please see below.


  1. February
  2. October (Ongoing)

  3. November (Coming soon)

  4. December (Coming soon)

Other Timelapses:


Accessories

Power Adapter

A gadget was added to the project to have continuous power. It is a replacement to the battery, shaped similarly to fit in its compartment. It is wired and plugged to the electrical outlet to have steady flow of power. Only on rare occasion when power is out that I need to use the batteries. Then when power’s back, adapter business as usual.

Previously using two batteries, I’ve missed many shots as battery drains when nobody’s around to replace it. After many months I just can’t establish a rhythm such that battery change-over is on time. That’s when I researched on alternatives and found this power adapter kit from Amazon.

Quite an impressive delivery service as it arrived on June 15 from scheduled 28th. Immediately upon receipt, got it plugged and it started working :) Well worth the around C$50 price tag. Picture of the gadget here is from their website. It is shown in three separate pieces but they all connect into single unit pretty much like other adapters.

My wish list:

  1. Make this the size of the camera’s battery
  2. Have its wire connection standard such that it can be connected with most, if not all camera battery compartments

WiFi Adapter

imageAnother gadget I got so I don’t have to take out the SD card. It is necessary to take out the SD card to copy pictures and process into time lapse video. Somehow when I take out and put back the SD card, I can’t keep the camera in its exact previous placement. So the idea is that I’ll just move files wirelessly using this gadget, not having to touch the DSLR anymore, so it stays in its exact place.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to set up the card correctly. The first thing I did was to format the card. Big mistake as there are files in the card needed to complete the setup. This gadget just stayed in my drawer for some time, not used for its purpose :(

Oh well, at least I can use this as 16 GB SD card. Maybe later I can figure out how to set this up so I can use its wireless functionality. The price tag from Amazon for the 8 GB version is around C$80. And since mine is 16GB, I decided to use it as the main SD card. It is much more than enough storage capacity anyway.


imageTripod
This is much needed to begin with. Nothing fancy for me, medium sized Vivitar sat close to the window glass. I scotch taped its footing so I have marker of its exact location and will be able to put it back correctly, in case it is accidentally moved.

Dust Cover
The camera stands there for months up to a year maybe more. Surely it will gather dust (as I found out later). Any piece of cloth will do, even plastic or paper maybe. Just cover the top of the camera to minimize dust.

Lens Hood
This is to avoid reflection from window glass, a necessity at when the environment goes dark. Regular hoods will work I guess. Mine’s improvised paper and scotch tape. Light’s controlled but not totally eliminated, which I think helps.

Setup

Basically focus manual, the rest auto and intervalometer set to hourly. More details to follow…

Leave a Reply

